OPR GAME JAME #2 IS NOW LIVE!

Game Jam

Hi everyone,

The second ever OPR Game Jam is now live, and the theme will be:

SYNERGY

What does that mean you ask?

Synergy is a principle of game design where the interaction between two systems leads to a greater outcome than just the sum of their parts.

This could mean having synergetic interactions between different weapons, special rules, unit types, terrain, or just the core systems of the game itself.

If you want to watch some videos talking about Synergy in games, check these out:

So, did those videos get you pumped up to design an awesome game?

Then head over to our Discord server to share your ideas: https://discord.gg/djBydgk

You now have 48hrs to design your game, and send in your submission by:

  • UK – 8PM BST Sunday November 15th
  • USA East Coast – 3PM ET Sunday November 15th
  • USA West Coast – Noon PT Sunday November 15th
  • Europe – 9PM CET Sunday November 15th
  • Japan – 4AM JST Monday November 16th
  • Australia – 5AM AEST Monday November 16th

Check out the Game Jam page for more info on submissions: https://itch.io/jam/oprgj2

Submission Rules:

  1. The game has to follow the theme.
  2. The game must fit on a single sheet, using the provided template:
    • The front page must contain all of the game’s core rules.
    • The back page may optionally contain rules on unit creation or special rules.
  3. Every game must be submitted along with the following:
    • A visual moodboard for the game. We recommend using BeFunky (it’s free).
    • (Optional) Pictures of you playing the game, the miniatures, the table, etc.

Please make sure to submit your game in PDF format so that it’s easy for everyone to read it on mobile and desktop!

We have created an example game (not following the theme) for you to see what a correct submission should look like, and if you need more inspiration you can check out our one-off games to see how you can fit a full experience on just one page. Make sure to also take a look at our last jam’s game submissions for even more awesome examples!

Finally we wanted to remind everyone that the most important thing is to create a game that has interesting mechanics and an engaging core gameplay loop, and not a perfectly balanced grand strategy game.

You could focus on creating a small one-off encounter for example (like a rowdy bar fight, or an exciting airplane dogfight), or maybe make a game that follows a short linear story. Either way, just try to make something fun to play, regardless of its size. :)

Happy Designing!

– Gaetano

Support us on Patreon: patreon.com/onepagerules

Join the Community: Discord – Facebook – Twitter – Reddit – Instagram – Forum – Newsletter