GAME JAME #5 STARTS NOW!

Game Jam

Hi everyone,

The OPR Game Jam #5 is now live, and the theme will be:

DESIGN BY SUBTRACTION

What does that mean you ask?

Design by Subtraction means to find the core of a game, and removing everything around it that doesn’t support that core design. In many ways, all of the OPR games are designed by subtraction.

This could be anything like making a game that is purely focused around movement (removing all systems not revolving around that), or a game that is where the entire focus is on a specific interaction between elements like fire and water (making sure that all systems are fully built around supporting that interaction, and removing anything that goes beyond that).

If you want to watch a video talking about Design by Subtraction, check this out:

You now have 48hrs to design your game, and send in your submission by:

  • UK – 8PM GMT Sunday May 15th
  • USA East Coast – 3PM ET Sunday May 15th
  • USA West Coast – Noon PT Sunday May 15th
  • Europe – 9PM CET Sunday May 15th
  • Japan – 4AM JST Monday May 16th
  • Australia – 5AM AEST Monday May 16th

Check out the Game Jam page for more info on submissions: https://itch.io/jam/oprgj5

Head over to our Discord server to share your ideas: https://discord.gg/djBydgk

We want to remind everyone that the most important thing is to create a game that has interesting mechanics and an engaging core gameplay loop, and not a perfectly balanced grand strategy game.

You could focus on creating a small one-off encounter for example (like a rowdy bar fight, or an exciting airplane dogfight), or maybe make a game that follows a short linear story. Either way, just try to make something fun to play, regardless of its size. :)

Happy Designing!

– Gaetano

Support us on Patreon: patreon.com/onepagerules

Join our Community: Discord – Facebook – Twitter – Reddit – Forum